ND's Christian Palmer and Marielle Carter Earn "Honorary Secretary of State" Award

By Connect Clarksburg Staff | February 10, 2018
Secretary of State Mac Warner is proud to announce that students from high schools in Harrison and Marion counties have been selected as Honorary Secretaries of State for their efforts to register their classmates to vote.
Notre Dame High School students Christian Palmer and Marielle Carter, and Fairmont Senior High School students Jarrett Schleicher, Jarryd Powell, and Hayden Moran were selected for this prestigious program.

The Honorary Secretary of State Program recognizes high school students who are active in the voter registration process. These students have registered eligible 17 and 18-year-old high school seniors to vote.
Palmer and Carter worked with the school's administration, County Clerk Susan Thomas and WVSOS Field Representative Dot Underwood to register 100% of the Notre Dame High School students who were eligible to vote.  The upcoming May Primary Election will be the first time for these students to vote.

Friday's honorees are part of a group of 49 students across West Virginia who have helped organize more than 100 voter registration drives in their schools and communities. These efforts have helped register 13,688 eligible high school seniors in 2017.

Secretary Warner introduced Palmer, Carter, Schleicher, Powell, and Moran and congratulated them and their high schools Friday morning in a ceremony held in the Secretary of State's Office in the State Capitol.
On behalf of the Harrison County delegation, Delegate Ben Queen recognized Palmer and Carter from the House of Delegate's Chamber.  Accompanying the pair from Notre Dame was Notre Dame High School Principal Dr. Carrol Morrison and Harrison County Clerk Susan Thomas.

Christian Palmer of Clarksburg is the son of Glen & Michelle Palmer. Marielle Carter of Bridgeport is the daughter of Dale & Theresa Carter. Jarrett Schleicher of Fairmont is the son of William Schleicher and Melissa Schleicher. Jarryd Powell of Fairmont is the son of Brian Powell and Peggy Powell. Hayden Moran of Fairmont is the son of Melissa Moran, Kelley Moran.
Photo Identification: Pictured (From left to Right): Harrison County Clerk/West Virginia County Clerks Association President Susan Thomas, Delegate Guy Ward (R-Marion), Christian Palmer, Delegate Ben Queen (R-Harrison), Marielle Carter, Secretary of State Mac Warner, Delegate Richard Iaquinta (D-Harrison) Jarrett Schleicher, Jarryd Powell, Hayden Moran.

Share Article


Be the first to comment!

Post a Comment

Log in or Register to post a comment.

Vote for the Best of Clarksburg!