Notre Dame's Tamara Boles to Receive Prestigious FSU's Presidential Scholarship

By Connect Clarksburg Staff | May 27, 2018

For the ninth consecutive year, three West Virginia high school seniors have been named as recipients of Fairmont State University’s premier academic scholarship, the Charles J. McClain Presidential Scholarship.

The following students have been selected as 2017 scholarship winners:

Tamara Boles Bailey McInturff Angelic Starkovic
Tamara Boles of Bridgeport, the daughter of Timothy and Ginger Boles, is a student at Notre Dame High School in Harrison County. Bailey McInturff of Beckley, the daughter of Brian and Elizabeth Raney, is a student at Woodrow Wilson High School in Raleigh County Angelica Starcovic of Cameron, the daughter of Stephen and Kimberly Starcovic, is a student at Cameron High School in Marshall County

            “Fairmont State University offers many opportunities for high-achieving students, including our three scholarship winners. I look forward to welcoming them to our campus community,” said Dr. Maria Rose, FSU President. “At FSU, we take seriously our commitment to give our students exactly what they need to be successful in our changing global economy. Fairmont State University is a place where teaching and learning matter. FSU provides students with chances to create their own firsts based on their personal goals. All students should have the chance to expand their horizons.”

The competitive scholarship includes tuition, room and board and a book stipend. The high school of each of the winners was presented with a plaque featuring its student during the school’s spring awards assembly.

“The Office of Admissions and Recruitment is very pleased with the highly qualified candidates this year who interviewed for the Presidential Scholarship, our top scholarship,” said Amie Fazalare, Director of Admissions and Recruitment.   

The deadline to apply for the Presidential Scholarship is in February each year. To compete for the Presidential Scholarship, named by the FSU Board of Governors in honor of Dr. Charles J. McClain who served as FSU’s interim president from 2008-2009, a student must meet the following criteria:

  • Be a West Virginia student who is a member of the Class of 2017.
  • Be a PROMISE Scholarship recipient.
  • Submit a Charles J. McClain Presidential Scholarship application and essay.
  • Complete an FSU admissions file (general application, high school transcript, test scores) prior to the deadline.
  • Have a cumulative high school GPA of 3.5 or higher.
  • Have an ACT composite score of 26 or higher or 1190 SAT (combined Critical Reading and Math scores taken prior to March 2016) or 1260 SAT total score (taken March 2016 and after).
  • Participate in on-campus interviews.

First-year recipients must maintain an overall GPA of a 2.75 at the end of their first year. An overall GPA of 3.0 is required for renewal during subsequent years. A minimum of 30 credit hours must be obtained in a year of enrollment for renewal. The Charles J. McClain Presidential Scholarship can only be awarded up to eight semesters.

Students from across West Virginia who participated in interviews on campus were named finalists for FSU’s most prestigious scholarship. Each finalist will receive the Presidential Finalist Scholarship, which is valued at $1,500 per year and is a four-year scholarship.

The following Harrison County students were also named as finalists:

Harrison County

  • Katherine Coburn of Bridgeport, the daughter of John and Jennifer Conley, attends Bridgeport High School.
  • Jasmine Cochran of Shinnston, the daughter of Angela Ross, attends Lincoln High School.
  • Camden Cutlip of Clarksburg, the son of Allen and Cynthia Cutlip, attends Robert C. Byrd High School.
  • Cassie Delawder of Shinnston, the daughter of Bryan and Virginia Delawder, attends Grafton High School.
  • Lindsey LaNeve of Shinnston, the daughter of Todd and Tamara LaNeve, attends Lincoln High School.
  • Devin McIntyre of Clarksburg, the son of Mark and B. Louann McIntyre, attends Bridgeport High School.
  • Kelsey Palmer of Clarksburg, the daughter of Brian and Gina Palmer, attends Liberty Harrison High School.
  • All PROMISE Scholars also are eligible to participate in the Honors Program, which provides students with the opportunity to deepen their academic experience through smaller classes taught by some of the University’s finest faculty, field trips in the United States and abroad and extracurricular activities on and off campus.

“Honors students find that studying and socializing with other like-minded students helps them to make the most of their university experience,” said Dr. J. Robert Baker, Director of the Honors Program.

With an enrollment of more than 4,000, FSU offers six associate degrees, more than 80 baccalaureate programs of study, as well as graduate programs in architecture, business, criminal justice and education. Unique programs include National Security and Intelligence and minors in Folklore Studies and Museum Studies. With approximately 200 full-time faculty, the student-to-faculty ratio is 15:1. The institution is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association.

For more information, call (800) 641-5678 or (304) 367-4010 or visit For more information about scholarship opportunities at FSU, visit


Share Article


Be the first to comment!

Post a Comment

Log in or Register to post a comment.